This summer

I’ve got some big plans in store for this summer.

Camp 1
Turtle River Lake
In June and July, I will be working at the Concordia Language Villages as a camp counselor. I was a student at the language villages for three years (it’s where I first studied Russian), and I worked there for two summers as a counselor. I couldn’t be there last year, what with me hopping around the Black Sea and all, but I’m thrilled to be returning. I love hanging out with the kids, brushing up on camp-relevant vocabulary, and nomming on delicious Russian food. (САЛАТ ОЛИВЬЕ, get in my belly!!)

Baku, Azerbaijan
Photo credit: teuchterlad
Once camp is finished in July, I’ll hang out in Minnesota for a few days before departing for Baku, Azerbaijan. With a population of more than 2,000,000 people, Baku is the largest city in the Caucasus. It sits on the Caspian Sea, which is the subject of my honors thesis. I’ll be meeting some people from environmental NGOs and exploring the city for several days (which I know is not enough) before meeting up with a friend in Istanbul for a night.

Bishkek, Kyrgysztan
Photo credit: yon45
After a brief jaunt in Turkey, my friend Rebecca and I will board a flight to Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan. What does one do in Kyrgyzstan, you might wonder? We’ll be exploring Bishkek, the capital city, for a few days – checking out flea markets, trying traditional (and not-so-traditional) Kyrgyz food, and admiring Soviet-era monuments – before going on an adventure to the countryside. We haven’t quite solidified our plans yet.. but we know we want to ride horses, climb mountains (which cover 90% of the country), relax by Lake Issyk-Kul, and sleep in yurts.

Now that I’ve finished all my classes and exams for the semester, I can finally start devoting the appropriate number of hours per day to daydreaming about my summer travels.

Leave a Reply

