Friday Fruit Market

Every Friday in downtown Alanya, there is a huge fruit bazaar. This was my second time visiting, but my first time remembering my camera. We walked through the stands, snatching up strawberries, oranges, mushrooms, and apples for inconceivably low prices. It was a nice adventure for practicing Turkish – I had an awkward encounter while trying to buy mushrooms when I couldn’t explain that I didn’t know how many mushrooms were in half a kilogram. Awkward linguistic moments aside, the colors and textures of the market are spectacular, no?

Nuts
Corn
Mantar and olives
Sunflower seeds
Nut pile
Nuts
Garlic
Veggies
Mantar
Eggs
Lettuce
Beans
Bazaar
Bazaar findings
Oranges
Tomatoes
Orange leaves
Woman buying

Leave a Reply

