St. Petersburg: The Hermitage

The Hermitage is one of the most famous art museums in the world, boasting the largest collection of paintings and several historic buildings. It’s located right on the Neva River and is an absolute dream  to get lost in.

I went one afternoon with a girl named Masha, who showed me around the ancient history and portrait areas of the museum. I had the opportunity to get my photograph taken with Catherine the Great – it was quite the experience.

We left the museum after a few hours because we were tired and needed some lunch.. But I didn’t get my fill of the paintings and statues and portraits and drawings, so I decided to venture back another day. I got there on Thursday, which is the day the museum is free for Russian citizens, and had to wait in line for over an hour. It was frigid and I almost gave up and went home, but finally I was allowed into the museum. I was able to convince the woman selling tickets that I deserved a free ticket because I could speak Russian and I was a student there, so that was a nice way to save 150 rubles.

There is a huge peacock clock that opens its tail twice a day. A random tour guide helped me take a photograph of the clock, and explained the history behind it.

Leave a comment