Summer Reading

I decided to keep track of the books I’ve read this summer. It’s been nice to look back and know that I’ve taken the time to relax with some nice stories, and I laugh at myself for falling back into academia with some other reads.

Here’s the Summer 2011 list:

1. One Day, David Nicholls

2. Bossypants, Tina Fey

3. Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen

4. All the Pretty Horses, Cormac McCarthy

5. Tomcat in Love, Tim O’Brien

6. Haroun and the Sea of Stories, Salman Rushdie

7. Rock Paper Scissors: Game Theory in Everyday Life, Len Fisher

8. Man, the State, and War, Kenneth Waltz

9. Orlando, Virginia Woolf

10. First Love, Ivan Turgenev

11. The Dharma Bums, Jack Kerouac

12. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran-Foer

13. The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas

14. Post-American World, Fareed Zakaria

15. I’ve finished about 1/4 of Doctor Zhivago, Boris Pasternak

Among the list of summer reads, I’d say I most recommend Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. I was engulfed by the emotion and clarity of the book – I was so attached to Oskar, the young narrator of the majority of the story. It is a little bizarre how precocious Oskar is – but there were so many passages that made me pause and think throughout the book. I really enjoyed it.

Just a note: Tomcat in Love was one of the most ridiculous books ever, but in a good way. I loved the Minnesota references, clearly, but probably not for the right reasons.

Another note: If it’s winter, reading The Dharma Bums might not be the best idea – it was a perfect summertime read. I felt right at home reading the book on a lazy day (and night and early, early morning, etc.)

 

 

I’m getting a shipment of books for school today – I can’t wait to start the fall reading list. Rally on!

Leave a Reply

